OFFICIAL: Prez Mahama Declared Winner Of 2012 Polls

The Chairman of the Electoral Commission (EC), Dr Kwadwo Afari-Gyan, has declared Flagbearer of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) and President of the Republic, His Excellency John Dramani Mahama as winner of the 2012 Presidential Election.

Mr Mahama, obtained 5,574,761 votes, representing 50.70 per cent, of the valid votes cast while his closest challenger, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) polled 5,248,898 votes, representing 47.74 per cent.

“Ladies and gentlemen, based on the official results given, i declare John Mahama, as the President-Elect of Ghana,” Dr. Afari-Gyan declared at a press conference to officially announce the winner of Election 2012.

He was flanked by Mr David Adeenze-Kanga, Deputy Chairman in-Charge of Finance and Administration; Mr Kwadwo Sarfo-Kantanka, Deputy Chairman in Charge of Operations and other Commissions members and directors.

Officials and supporters of the NDC, who thronged the EC premises to witness the official declaration burst into wild cheers as the EC Chairman announced Mr Mahama as the winner.

Flag-bearer of the Progressive People’s Party (PPP), Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom placed third in the elections with 64,362 votes representing 0.59. Interestingly, Dr Henry Herbert Lartey of the Great Consolidate Popular Party (GCPP) was fourth. He polled 38,223 votes representing 0.35%.

The presidential candidate who placed fifth was Hassan Ayariga of the People’s National Convention Party (PNC). He secured 24,617 of the votes cast, representing 0.22%. Michael Abu Sakara of the Convention People’s Party (CPP) was sixth; polling 20,323 votes, which translates into 0.18%.

The only Presidential Independent Candidate in the contest, Jacob Osei Yeboah was seventh; garnering 15,201 votes representing 0.14%. The United Front Party (UFP’s) Akwasi Addai Odike came eighth with 8,877 votes; representing 0.08% .

Out of the total 14,158,890 registered voters, 11,246,982 people exercised their franchise. Of that figure, 10,995,262 were deemed valid. The total rejected votes stood at 251,720. The turnout in the 275 constituencies was 79.43%.