CAF unveils shortlists for Player of the Year 2012

CAF unveils shortlists for Player of the Year 2012

The Confederation of African Football and Glo Mobile today announced the five shortlisted players for the 2012 African Player of the Year.

Ghana’s Andre Ayew made the pre-final shortlist at a press conference in Accra on Friday attended by GFA President and CAF Executive Committee member Kwesi Nyantakyi and officials from Globacom, sponsors of the annual event.

Ayew, a second runner-up in last year’s award faces competition from the reigning player of the year Yaya Toure, Didier Drogba, Alexander Song and Demba Ba after the list was pruned from a tall list of 10 players.

For the Player of the Year in Africa category, the list has been be whittled to three from five nominees. Mohamed Aboutreika, Rainford Kalaba and Stoppila Sunzu make the final list.

The winners for the year under review will be announced at the Caf-Glo awards gala at the Banquet Hall, State House, Accra on 20 December 2012.

At a televised gala, the best player of 2012 and the winners in other award categories will also be revealed.

The 2012 Awards Gala will be held on December 20 at the Banquet Hall, State House, Accra.

The other categories for which winners will be announced are:

1. National Team of the Year

2. Women’s Footballer of the Year

3. Women’s National Team of the Year

4. Club of the Year

5. Most Promising Talent of the Year

6. Coach of the Year

7. Referee of the Year

8. Legend Award

9. Fair Play Award

10. Platinum Award

11. Africa Finest XI