East Africa: Cecafa – Malawi Replaces Djibouti As Guest Team

Cecafa has settled for Malawi as replacement for Djibouti in the Tusker Cup 2012 despite pleas from both Cameroon and Zimbabwe to be allowed entry as guest teams in the region’s biggest football competition.

The regional soccer governing body Secretary General Nicholas Musonye said that they settled for Malawi because the team had exhibited a high level of discipline and competitiveness in the previous two editions they participated.

Malawi first attended the showpiece in 2010. In last year’s competition, they lost to Tanzania in the quarterfinals.

Musonye arrives on Sunday for the tournament draws due to be held at Serena Hotel on Monday. The lucrative annual tournament kicks off on November 24 and the final is expected on December 8.

Tanzania, newcomers South Sudan, Ethiopia, Rwanda, Sudan, Burundi, Eritrea, Somalia, Zanzibar, Kenya and hosts Uganda are the other countries in the competition.

The Somali national team arrived for a residential training in Kampala on Friday.

The sponsors East African Breweries have injected $450,000 that will see the winners pocket $30,000, runners’ up $20,000 and the third place $10,000.

Uganda last hosted the cup in 2008.

Cranes Squad for Cecafa:

A.Dhaira, A.Kimera, H.Muwonge, Y. Mugabi, N.Wadada, D.Guma, J.Owino, I.Isinde, E.Ssali, I.Bukenya, G. Walusimbi (captain), S.Namwanja, S.Bengo, M.Mutimba, J.Ochaya, R.Omunuk, S.Matovu, M.Oloya, G.Kizito, M.Kaweesa, J.Sadam, C.Ntambi, A.Feni, A.Gift, B.Umony, H.Kiiza, D.Sserunkukma, R.Ssentogo, J.Mpande, E.Okwi