NPP Primaries For 45 New Constituencies: Surprises Galore

The opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP) on Sunday held primaries across the country to elect parliamentary candidates for the 45 newly created constituencies.

In the Lawra Constituency, one of the 45 new constituencies, in the Upper West Region, former National Youth Organiser of the NPP, Anthony Karbo won the primaries. He polled 279 to beat his challenger, former Regional Secretary, Stephen Kojo Ngmen who managed 85 votes.

In the Northern Region, Sheikh Abdul Karim won the Sagnarigu constituency, whiles Muhammad Kabal Deen Amidu won by popular acclamation in the Kparibatoe constituency.

John Kwaku Alhassan emerged the winner in the Yunyoo constituency.

And James Cecil Yawumbe won in the Tatale Sangule Costituency.

In the Greater Accra Region, the incumbent MP for the Okaikoi North constituency, Elizabeth Sackey, who lost in last primaries, has once again been given the nod to contest for the second time.

She had earlier lost the seat to Patrick Boamah. But with the creation of the Okaikoi Central constituency, Mr. Boamah opted to contest the new seat paving way for Elizabeth Sackey to contest again for the Okaikoi North seat; she did and won convincingly.

Patrick Boamah therefore is now the NPP Parliamentary aspirant for the newly created Okaikoi Central constituency.

In the newly created Weija/Gbawe seat, former Deputy National Women’s Organizer of the NPP, Tina Ayele Mensah lost her bid to contest in the December general elections. Tina Mensah, who resigned her position in the party to contest the primaries against three other contenders including, Rosemond Amo Debrah , Kofi Dotsi Apiatu and Owusu Afriyie Steven, however failed in her bid.

Rosemond Amo Debrah emerged the winner.

Also in the Greater Accra region, Alhaji Mohammed Baaba Alhassan won the Ayawaso East constituency seat by 169 votes.

Titus Glover won the Tema East Constituency seat.

In the Banda constituency in the Brong Ahafo Region, Honourable Joe Danquah won with 132 votes to become the NPP Parliamentary aspirant.

Meanwhile, in the Eastern Region, former Eastern Regional Secretary of the NPP, Frank Annor Dompreh, emerged the winner and will contest for the Nsawam Adoagyire constituency.

The Akyem Oda Constituency of the Eastern Region was won by William Kwetu.

In the Ashanti Region, incumbent MP for Obuasi, Hon Edward Ennin, who lost in the party’s last primary to Kweku Kwarteng, won the newly created Obuasi-East constituency.

And in the Manhyia North Constituency in the Ashanti Region, Collins Owusu Amankwah won with 119 votes.

In Bolga East Constituency, former MCE of the area, Rockson Anyina Bukar won by 79 votes.

In the Volta Region, Justice Joewawa Aklamanu won the Adaklu Constituency primaries.

The NPP, apart from electing candidates for the 45 new constituencies, also elected a parliamentary candidate for the Ajumako-Enyan-Essiam constituency, in the Central Region.

Festus Badu Turkson won with 423 votes and becomes the Parliamentary aspirant for the constituency.

The party’s parliamentary candidate for the constituency, Mr. Ato Quainoo died a few weeks ago.

More soon…