Andre Ayew, Agyeman-Badu Nominated For CAF Player of The Year Award

Ghanaian internationals Andre Ayew and Emmanuel Agyeman-Badu have been nominated for this year’s CAF Player of the Year Award.

Chelsea stars Mikel Obi and Victor Moses have also been nominated.

The other Nigeria star in the 34 nominees is John Utaka, who helped his club Montpellier to an historic French Ligue 1 championship last season.

Sunshine Stars duo of Izu Azuka and Godfrey Oboabona have been picked for the top award for players based in Africa.

Mikel helped Chelsea to a first-ever UEFA Champions League trophy in May as well as the English FA Cup, while Moses was outstanding for modest English Premier League club Wigan Athletic, which eventually earned him a big-money move to Chelsea this season.

Moses was also capped by Nigeria in February in Rwanda after he changed his international allegiance from England.

Reigning African Player of the Year Yaya Toure is again in the reckoning for this year’s edition, which will be decided on December 20 in Accra, Ghana.

Yaya propelled Manchester City to win the coveted English Premier League championship in 44 years.

Other nominees are Yaya’s Cote d’Ivoire teammate Didier Drogba, who helped Chelsea to the Champions League, as well as several heroes from the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations like Rainford Kalaba, Stoppila Sunzu, Emmanuel Myuka and Christopher Katongo (Zambia), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon).

Notable absentees are Cameroon’s Samuel Eto’o and Asamoah Gyan of Ghana.